­Thursday, May 24, 2018
6:00 – 7:00 p.m. Reception with Hosted Bar
7:00 – 9:00 p.m. Dinner & Awards Program
Hotel Nikko | 222 Mason Street | San Francisco, CA 94102

“Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced.”
~James Baldwin

Phillip Burton Immigration & Civil Rights Awards is one of the premiere immigrant rights awards celebrations in the country. Th­e Immigrant Legal Resource Center proudly honors outstanding individuals for their work on behalf of immigrants. Named after the late Congressman Phillip Burton, U.S. Representative from California (1964-1983), the awards recognize those who carry on Congressman Burton’s legacy in support of immigrant and human rights.

This event brings together over 375 leading immigrant rights advocates and allies from the legal, public, private, and community sectors. ­This annual signature event celebrates the achievements of policy and advocacy supporters who have made a difference in the immigrant rights field.

This year, our first confirmed honoree and recipient of the Phillip Burton Award for Advocacy is actress, activist, and author, Diane Guerrero. Diane is best known for her roles as “Maritza Ramos” on the award winning, Emmy and Golden Globe nominated Netflix series Orange Is The New Black (for which she received three Screen Actors Guild awards), as "Lina" in CW's break-out hit, Jane the Virgin, and as “Sofia” a series regular on the CBS comedy Superior Donuts.

Diane’s memoir, In The Country We Love, published by Henry Holt, details her life as a citizen daughter of undocumented parents, and her years-long struggle to deal with the consequences of the broken immigration system. She is an outspoken advocate for commonsense, comprehensive immigration reform and in 2015, was named a White House Ambassador for Citizenship and Naturalization.

We look forward to sharing more about our event, award recipients, and things to come soon!

Former Award-Recipients and Keynote Speakers:

For more information, contact Cynthia Housel, Director of Leadership Giving, at chousel [at] ilrc.org or (415) 321-8570.

Tickets Available Soon!